DURAND – In his first varsity sectional, Owen Jones gave the New Lisbon boys cross country team a representative in this Saturday’s WIAA Division 3 state final.

Jones finished last Saturday’s Division 3 sectional at Durand in 17 minutes, 57.5 seconds to place 12th as the meet’s highest-finishing freshman and earn the final of five at-large transfers to the state final at Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids.

Durand (45) and Luther (60) accounted for the two team transfer spots, along with each of the first four finishers. While the host team won the sectional, Luther’s David Vannucchi provided the individual win by finishing in 16:36.9 and with a 15-second advantage over the runner-up.

Jones was joined in the top 20 by teamemate Holden Rydmark, who finished 19th in 18:29; the two helped the Rockets challenge for a top-5 finish. They placed sixth with 146 points, just five behind Hillsboro (141) in fifth.

Colten Stickney (19:21.7) finished 28th; Ethan Turner (19:54.9) was 40th and Jared Dvorak (20:12.8) was 47th for New Lisbon. Michael Hickey (21:31.2) was 69th and Bobby Sloan (23:30) was 91st as the team’s additional runners.

Jones is one of five freshmen statewide to qualify for the Division 3 state final.

Necedah (325) finished 11th in the team standings and Royall (389) was 15th. Isaiah Herried (20:02.1) led Necedah with a 43rd-place finish and Nolan McKittrick (21:02.1) was 57th for Royall.

Westby sectional

Mauston had a pair of top-25 finishers and placed each of its scored runners in the top 50 but wasn’t able to garner an individual or team entry to the Division 2 state final.

Josiah Ziebell (17:50.9) was 19th and Luke Boppart (18:08.1) was 22nd for the Golden Eagles, who finished with 162 team points to place seventh in the final standings. La Crosse Logan won the team title with 66 points while Westby’s Hayden Fredrickson won the event in 16:12.4.

With all five individual transfer spots to this week’s state final were claimed by the top-6 finishers, Ziebell would have needed to lower his sectional time by 47 seconds to gain entry to the final.

Jacob Cafferty (18:36.7) was 34th for the Golden Eagles; Dylan Dearth (18:44.8) was 37th and Preston Shields (19:09.3) was 50th. Ray Gruman (19:17.4) was 57th and Dawson Dearth (20:49.9) was 82nd as the team’s additional runners.