Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Sauk Prairie senior guards Spencer Kostroski and Carson Radl were named to the All-Badger North Conference boys basketball team.

Kostroski earned his second straight second-team selection, while Radl received honorable mention accolades.

Kostroski ran the show for Sauk Prairie, tallying 8.9 points and 6.4 assists per game from the point guard position. Kostroski shot 39.7 percent from the field, including 32.2 percent from behind the 3-point line, and 77.8 percent from the free-throw line. Kostroski, who scored 10.6 points per game last season, took on a bit of a different role as a senior, setting the table for Sauk Prairie’s balanced attack.

Radl took a leap as a senior, earning his first all-conference selection after seeing his scoring average jump from 6.4 points per game last year to a team-high 12.2 points per game this winter. The shooting guard made 50 3-pointers on the year, shooting 42.0 percent from behind the arc and 82.0 percent from the free-throw line.

Kostroski and Radl helped lead a Sauk Prairie senior class that also included Parker Chrisler, Dawson Evert, Elijah Jorgenson, Abe Rothmann and Aidan Young. The Eagles went 13-11 on the year, suffering a 55-39 loss at DeForest in a WIAA Division 2 regional semifinal game on March 2.

Waunakee senior Mitch Listau was named the Badger North Player of the Year. Listau was joined on the first team by teammate Mason Steffen, Reedsburg’s Tyson Tully, Beaver Dam’s Sam Wilke and DeForest’s Austin Westra.

Follow Brock Fritz on Twitter @BrockFritz

Capital Newspapers Regional Sports Reporter