Despite falling one win short of the a WIAA state tournament berth, the Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells/Mauston co-op boys hockey team has plenty to cheer about after seeing this year’s All-Badger North Conference team.

The Cheavers, who finished second behind Waunakee with a 7-3-0 record in conference play, and ended the season with a 19-8-0 overall record, amassed four All-Badger North picks.

Leading the way for Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells, who fell to West Salem/Bangor 5-3 in a sectional final, was the duo of senior Dylan Stein and junior Dylan Brown, who both earned unanimous first team honors.

Stein, a 6-foot goaltender, was dominant in net all season for the Cheavers, amassing a record of 18-8-0.

He ended the season with 632 saves, good for a .917 save percentage, allowed 2.18 goals against per game and pitched a state-high six shutouts during the regular season.

Brown, a 5-7 forward, led the Cheavers in assists during the regular season, racking up 24 to go along with nine goals for a total of 33 points.

He was main point scorer for RWD in its playoff run, tallying nine points behind five assists and four goals, brining his season total to 42.

Along with the first team duo of Stein and Brown, the Cheavers had a pair of second team picks in seniors Garon Kirby and Chris Jones.

Jones, a 5-11 defenseman/forward, racked up a team-high 47 points during the regular season, including 34 goals and 13 assists, good for an average of 2.04 points per game.

He continued that success during the postseason, adding another four goals and three assists to finish the year with 54 points (38 goals, 16 assists).

Kirby, a 6-4 defenseman, racked up a team-high 14 assists for defenseman and added three goals during the regular season to tally 17 total points on the year.



Defensemen: *Robby Hatch, Jr., DeForest co-op; Jeremy Werner, Jr., Waunakee.

Forwards: *Dylan Brown, Jr., Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells; *Zane Marshman, Sr., Waunakee; Logan Wright, Sr., DeForest co-op.

Goaltender: *Dylan Stein, Sr., Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells

*unanimous selection.


Defensemen: Garon Kirby, Sr., Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells; Nick Macdonald, Sr., Baraboo/Portage.

Forwards: Chris Jones, Sr., Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells; Hunter Walters, Sr., DeForest co-op; Kyle Ihrke, Jr., Waunakee.

Goaltender: Dakota Pickhard, Jr., Sauk Prairie.


Defensemen: Dayne Leonard, Jr., Sauk Prairie; Zach Ferris, Sr., Waunakee.

Forwards: Jack Macdonald, Jr., Baraboo/Portage; Grant Newcomer, Fr., McFarland; Alex Gille, Sr., McFarland; Zach Showers, Sr., Sauk Prairie; Camden Desroches, Fr., Sauk Prairie; Justin Kakuska, Sr., Waunakee.

Goaltender: Jacques Semandel, Jr., Waunakee.