The Wisconsin Dells football team has been through plenty of trials and tribulations over the last number of years.

After going a combined 1-17 over the last two seasons, the Chiefs went 2-6 in 2017, including 1-3 in South Central Conference play. It was the team’s first multi-win season since 2014 and along with it, Wisconsin Dells was well represented on the All-South Central Conference team.

The Chiefs garnered seven All-SCC selections, including a trio of two-way selections in Darius Mackinnis Adam Brown and Kayleb Galloway. Brown, a 5-foot-8, 180-pound senior, was the Chiefs top kick return man, earning first team honors as a return specialist. He averaged 27.8 yards on six returns, including one 84-yard return for a touchdown, finishing the year with 167 yards.

Along with his specialist honors, Brown was a second team defensive backs selection. Joining Brown as a first team pick was Mackinnis as the 6-2, 195 pounder was first team selection at outside linebacker.

The senior was the Chiefs most dominant defensive player according to coach Erik Rosholt, racking up 26 tackles, including six tackles for loss. Mackinnis had a pair of passes defended and an interception return for touchdown during non-conference play.

“He could set the edge and cover slot receivers,” Rosholt said. “He made frequent plays at or behind the line of scrimmage.”

Coupled with his first team selection on defense, Mackinnis was a second team pick on offense at tight end. Mackinnis used his big frame to haul in 11 catches for 218 yards, good for an average of 19.8 yards per reception. He caught one receiving touchdown and added three two-point conversion receptions.

While Mackinnis was the Chiefs top outside linebacker, Galloway was the team’s leader on the inside, earning second team honors. Galloway, a 5-9, 185-pound junior, picked up 40 tackles, including three tackles for loss, and was one of Wisconsin Dells’ defensive captains.

According to Rosholt, Galloway “quarterbacked our defense and worked his way into a lot of plays.”

While Galloway was busy bottling teams up on the inside on defense, he also paved the way up front earning second team offensive honors as a guard. Entering the season, the Chiefs were in need of a guard so Rosholt converted Galloway from fullback.

The move worked out in Wisconsin Dells’ favor as Galloway became one of the Chiefs’ most trustworthy offensive linemen and did not miss assignments.

Joining the three two-way honorees was junior defensive lineman Hunter Stenson. The 5-11, 175-pound junior was one of Wisconsin Dells’ top penetrators up front, earning second team honors.

Stenson racked up 28 tackles on the season, including six tackles for loss, and was one of the team’s most reliable defensive linemen according to Rosholt.

“He consistently worked against larger opponents eating up blocks,” he said.



Player of the Year — Cade Peterson, sr., Wautoma.


Quarterback — Ryan Lois*, jr., Wautoma. Running backs — Matt Kroll*, jr., Wautoma; Tyler Jirousek, jr., Mauston. Wide receivers — Daniel Raabe*, sr., Mauston; Cade Peterson*, sr., Wautoma. Tight end — Nicholas Kudick, sr., Mauston. Offensive linemen — Cole Kaberle*, sr., Nekoosa; Jesus Duran*, sr., Wautoma; Travis Johnson*, sr., Mauston; Cameron Caldwell, sr., Adams-Friendship; Evan Broder, sr., Nekoosa; Dante Borland, soph., Wautoma. Place kicker — Blake Nelson*, sr., Mauston. Return specialist — Adam Brown, sr., Wisconsin Dells; Max Bennett, jr., Wautoma.

<&SPAGEm>* — unanimous selection.</&SPAGEm>


Quarterback — Dakota Barnier, sr., Mauston. Running backs — Dylan Bills, jr., Nekoosa; Tim Hurns, jr., Adams-Friendship. Wide receivers — Teagan Kotlowski, jr., Adams-Friendship; Spencer Klinger, sr., Wautoma. Tight end — Darius Mackinnis, sr., Wisconsin Dells. Offensive linemen — Kayleb Galloway, jr., Wisconsin Dells; Damean Netzler, soph., Wautoma; Thomas Gruman, sr., Mauston; Marco Torres, jr., Wautoma; Dominick Meurett, jr., Mauston.


Player of the Year — Brandin Spice, sr., Nekoosa.


Defensive backs — Cole Kobyiski, sr., Mauston; Cade Peterson, sr., Wautoma; Kyle Livingston, sr., Adams-Friendship; Jace Olson, sr., Nekoosa; Dustin Farrar, sr., Wautoma. Linebackers — Brandin Spice*, sr., Nekoosa; Dakota Barnier, sr., Mauston; Zach Weiss, sr., Wautoma. Defensive ends — Darius Mackinnis, sr., Wisconsin Dells; Brandon Wolf, sr., Nekoosa. Defensive linemen — Collin Bays*, sr., Adams-Friendship; Jarrett Dolata, sr., Mauston; Cole Kaberle, sr., Nekoosa. Punter — Ryan Lois*, jr., Wautoma.

<&SPAGEm>* — unanimous selection.</&SPAGEm>


Defensive backs — Adam Brown, sr., Wisconsin Dells; Kyran Fitzgerald, jr., Mauston; Dylan Bills, jr., Nekoosa. Linebackers — Kayleb Galloway, jr., Wisconsin Dells; Braedyn Quinnell, jr., Adams-Friendship; Damean Netzler, soph., Wautoma. Defensive ends — Ryan Vang, jr., Mauston; Mike Hernandez, jr., Wautoma. Defensive linemen — Hunter Stenson, jr., Wisconsin Dells; Matt Kroll, jr., Wautoma; Dante Borland, soph., Wautoma.