The Wisconsin Dells volleyball team went through its fair share of growing pains last year, having its eight-year run of South Central Conference championships snapped.

The Chiefs rebounded this year, finishing unbeaten in SCC play to recapture the league crown and reach the Division 2 regional semifinals, going 17-16 overall. For their hard work, four Chiefs players earned All-South Central Conference honors.

Leading the way for Wisconsin Dells was Caelan Tourdot, who garnered unanimous first team honors. The 5-foot-10 junior outside hitter was instrumental in the team’s offense this season, racking up a team-high 195 kills.

Tourdot, who earned first team recognition as a sophomore last year, had a .347 hitting percentage and added 176 digs, 36 aces and 23 blocks. Along with Tourdot, Jenna Mace earned first team honors for the Chiefs.

Mace, a 5-4 setter, earned All-Conference honors for the third-straight year after being a first team pick last year and a second team selection in 2015. The senior was the Chiefs’ top ball distributor with 277 assists with just 22 ball handling errors, averaging 3.4 assists per set.

Like Tourdot, Mace was all over the stat sheet, adding 120 digs, a second-best 42 aces and 29 kills.

Along with the first team duo, the Chiefs also had a pair of second team selections in juniors Jamie Pfeifer and Kennedy Hickey.

Pfeifer, a 6-1 middle hitter, was Wisconsin Dells top blocker, racking up a team-high 109 stops, including 99 solo blocks. She also added plenty of depth offensively, chipping in 132 kills and 27 aces.

Hickey (5-6) made significant strides in her second year as the Chiefs’ libero. She piled up a team-best 373 digs, averaging 4.5 digs per set, with just 61 dig errors. Hickey added 24 assists and 31 aces.

While the loss of Mace and fellow senior Jamie Bates will hurt the Chiefs, the prospects of an even more successful 2018 campaign are bright for the Chiefs. Along with Tourdot, Pfeifer and Hickey, Wisconsin Dells returns a number of key players from this year’s team that will be eager to move past the regional semifinals.


Player of the Year — Jenna Baker, sr., Nekoosa.

First team — *Jenna Baker, sr., Nekoosa; *Caelan Tourdot, jr., Wisconsin Dells; *Brook Livingston, jr., Adams-Friendship; *Brooke Walling, sr., Mauston; *Maddy Weisensel, jr., Wautoma; Jenna Mace, sr., Wisconsin Dells.

* — unanimous selection

Second team — Jamie Pfeifer, jr., Wisconsin Dells; Kennedy Hickey, jr., Wisconsin Dells; Helen Merritt, sr., Nekoosa; Hattie Bray, fr., Wautoma; Mirra Vogel, sr., Westfield; Hannah Bulin, sr., Nekoosa.