Barring unforeseen last-minute campaigns, the Baraboo City Council roster won’t change this spring.

All four aldermen up for re-election have turned in nomination forms and will appear on the April 4 election ballot. As of Tuesday afternoon, no one had taken out papers from the City Clerk’s Office to oppose them. The filing deadline was 5 p.m.

That means aldermen Phil Wedekind of District 1, Scott Sloan of District 4, John Alt of District 7 and Michael Zolper of District 8 appear poised to win three-year terms on the council. Zolper is running for his first full term, after he was appointed in May to fill out Eugene Robkin’s term. Robkin resigned to devote time to personal matters.

There will be a change on the city’s Police and Fire Commission, as Commissioner Steve Bach filed non-candidacy papers. Brian Getschmann was the only citizen who filed nomination forms. Getschmann’s name will appear on the spring ballot, and is currently unopposed in a bid to win a five-year term.

Elected aldermen will take office April 19. The new Police and Fire commissioner will take office May 1.

Follow Ben Bromley on Twitter @ben_bromley

Baraboo News Republic Senior Reporter

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)