Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Memorial Day Committee

Members of local veterans groups are once again planning a Memorial Day observance in Beaver Dam. In the front, from left, are Gert Herman, Gail Tiedt, Lois Levenhagen, Janelle Yaroch, Ross O'Brion and Chuck Staab. In the back row from left are Ty Letto, Paul Lauth, Peter Jozefowski, Del Yaroch, Dave Noe, Jeff Krakow and Del Winning.

A committee of local veterans groups has been busy planning this year's Memorial Day ceremony in Beaver Dam.

"Everyone is invited to join us in honoring past and present veterans who have served or are now serving in order to preserve our country’s freedom," said event chair Lois Levenhagen. "Veterans deserve to be honored on their special day, and they would love to see as many people as possible to show their appreciation for veterans' service and sacrifices."

The memorial service will be held at the Veterans Memorial Park starting at 10:15 a.m. at Oakwood Cemetery east of Highway 151 on Highway 33. There will be no river ceremony or parade. American Legion Post 146 of Beaver Dam is hosting this year’s ceremony. The service will include the reading of the names of veterans who have died in the past year. During the memorial service at the cemetery, there will be some park benches available for seating, but people should bring lawn chairs and blankets for additional seating. 

The Beaver Dam High School marching band and St. Katharine Drexel marching band will provide music.

This year's guest speaker is Mike Burt, an Army veteran with 15 years of both active and reserve service. Deployments include Operation Desert Storm in 1991 and Operation Iraqi Freedom in 2004-05. He is a 10-year member of De Pere's American Legion Post 139, 3rd Vice Commander for the 8th District and a chairman on the Camp American Legion Committee.

Members of the committee include Gert Herman, Marine Corps League; Gail Tiedt, Legion Auxiliary; parade committee chair Lois Levenhagen, Legion Auxiliary; Janelle Yaroch, Legion Auxiliary; Ross O'Brion, Legion Adjutant; Chuck Staab, AMVETS; Commander Ty Letto, VFW; Paul Lauth, VFW; Peter Jozefowski, AMVETS; Commander Del Yaroch, American Legion; Dave Noe, Marine Corps League; Jeff Krakow, Marine Corps League; Del Winning, Marine Corps League; Bob Koch, American Legion; Dave Kleindl, American Legion; Capt. Chad Enright, Dodge County Sheriff's Office; and Sgt. Craig Retzlaff, Beaver Dam Police Honor Guard.

In case of bad weather, the memorial service will be moved to the Veterans Center, 300 Beichl Ave., starting at 10:30 a.m. Everyone is invited to come and participate.

For more information call, Bob Koch at 920-885-6335, Del Yaroch at 920-885-6903 or Lois Levenhagen at 920-887-0642.