You are the owner of this article.
FOOTBALL: Herschleb, Rennhack earn top defensive honors in the All-Capitol North

FOOTBALL: Herschleb, Rennhack earn top defensive honors in the All-Capitol North


The defense for Columbus gave up 19.6 points a game, had 14 interceptions, eight fumble recoveries and 15 sacks this season.

A big reason for the Cardinals’ defensive success was the play of senior defensive back Teagan Herschleb and junior defensive end Austin Rennhack, who not only earned first team All-Capitol North Conference honors, but Rennhack was named the league’s Defensive Lineman of the Year, and Herschleb was picked at the Defensive Player of the Year in the conference this season.

Herschleb finished the season second on the team with 88 total tackles (44 solo), had four interceptions, four forced fumbles and recovered two fumbles. Rennhack had 42 total tackles (25 solo), 11 tackles for loss, four sacks and returned one of his two fumble recoveries for a touchdown.

They both helped the Cardinals finish third in the Capitol North Conference with a 3-2 record.

Rennhack was just as destructive on the offensive line as he was on defense, earning him first-team All-Capitol North honors there as well. He helped junior running back Caden Brunell — who was selected as a first-team running back — rush for 1,150 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Brunell also led the Cardinals with 88 total tackles (43 solo), 14 tackles for loss and had an interception returned for a touchdown to earn first-team honors as an inside linebacker.

Herschleb led the Cardinals with 396 receiving yards and had two touchdowns on 20 receptions to earn second-team honors as a receiver.

Senior offensive lineman James Roche blocked for Brunell and junior quarterback Will Cotter so well that coaches voted him on the second team with Herschleb.

Cotter, who threw for 1,186 yards and 10 touchdowns with a 51.4 completion percentage, while also running for 251 yards and five touchdowns, received honorable mention.

Senior Joe Morris earned second-team honors for the Cardinals as an outside linebacker and as a punter. On defense, Morris finished with 26 solo tackles, six tackles for loss and one interception. As a punter, he averaged 30.7 yards per punt and put opposing teams inside the 20 yard-line nine times.

Senior interior defensive lineman Kendall Minick finished the season with 16 solo tackles, seven tackles for loss, two fumble recoveries and an interception, and was named to the second team.

Other Cardinals receiving honorable mention were junior offensive lineman Ryan King and senior defensive back Alex Campbell.




FIRST TEAM OFFENSE—Quarterback: *Adam Moen, Jr, Lake Mills. Running backs: *Colton Nicolay, Sr, Lodi; Caden Brunell, Jr, Columbus; Brayden O’Connor, Sr, Poynette. Wide receivers: Hunter Buechel, Sr, Lake Mills; Matt Johnson, Sr, Lake Mills; Nathan de Galley, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep. Tight end/fullback: Kade Parsons, Sr, Lodi. Offensive linemen: *Dustyn Paulson, Sr, Lodi; Will Jorgensen, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran; Austin Rennhack, Jr, Columbus; David Klein, Sr, Lake Mills; Jackson Lindemann, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep.

DEFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR – Austin Rennhack, Jr, Columbus.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Teagan Herschleb, Sr, Columbus.

FIRST TEAM DEFENSE – Defensive backs: *Teagan Herschleb, Sr, Columbus; Hunter Buechel, Sr, Lake Mills; Nathan de Galley, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep. Inside linebackers: Charlie Cassadey, Jr, Lake Mills; Logan Pampel, Sr, Lakeside Lutheran; Caden Brunell, Jr, Columbus. Outside linebackers: Nathan Chesterman, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran; Grant Horkan, Jr, Lake Mills; Logan Richards, Sr, Lodi. Interior defensive linemen: Caleb Chmielweski, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep; Josh Lescoheir, Jr, Lake Mills; Dustyn Paulson, Sr, Lodi. Defensive ends: Tyler Theder, Jr, Lake Mills; Austin Rennhack, Jr, Columbus; Christian Koelpin, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep.

FIRST TEAM SPECIAL TEAMS – Specialist: Matt Johnson, Sr, Lake Mills. Punter: Zack Dolson, Jr, Lodi. Kickers: Brayden Ciesiolka, So, Lake Mills; Tersony, Vater, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran.

<&SPAGEm>*Unanimous selection.</&SPAGEm>

SECOND TEAM OFFENSE – Quarterback: Matt Davis, Sr, Lakeside Lutheran. Running back: Jon Holtz, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep. Wide receivers: Carter Schneider, Sr, Lakeside Lutheran; Teagan Herschleb, Sr, Columbus; Tersony Vater, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran. Tight end/fullback: Colby Savich, Sr, Poynette. Offensive linemen: Austin Falk, Sr, Poynette; Camden Waterstradt, Sr, Lodi; Josh Lescoheir, Jr, Lake Mills; James Roche, Sr, Columbus; Ben Buxa, Fr, Lakeside Lutheran.

SECOND TEAM DEFENSE – Defensive backs: Matt Johnson, Sr, Lake Mills; Brayden O’Connor, Sr, Poynette; Tersony Vater, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran. Inside linebackers: Garrett Edge, Jr, Lodi; Colby Savich, Sr, Poynette; David Baumann, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep. Outside linebackers: Brett Wieting, So, Watertown Luther Prep; Joe Morris, Sr, Columbus. Interior defensive lineman: Kendall Minick, Sr, Columbus. Defensive ends: Mason Ripp, Sr, Lodi; Parker Walstad, Sr, Poynette.

SECOND TEAM SPECIAL TEAMS – Specialist: Michael Stenbroten, So, Lake Mills. Punters: Yuri Soloviyov, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep; Joe Morris, Sr, Columbus.

HONORABLE MENTION – Quarterback: Will Cotter, Jr, Columbus. Wide receiver: Jaxson Retrum, Jr, Lake Mills. Tight end/fullback: John O’Donnell, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran. Offensive linemen: Billy DuFresne, Sr, Poynette; Jonathan Wiedenhoeft, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep; Ryan King, Jr, Columbus; Cade Wipperfurth, Jr, Lodi. Defensive backs: Connor Faust, Jr, Lodi; Alex Campbell, Sr, Columbus; Atticus Lawrenz, Jr, Watertown Luther Prep. Inside linebackers: Micah Cody, Jr, Lakeside Lutheran; Ben Bucholtz, Fr, Lake Mills. Outside linebacker: Jake Buss, Sr, Poynette. Defensive end: Levi Clark, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep. Specialist: Paul Frick, Sr, Watertown Luther Prep.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News