The Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam co-op high school girls hockey team was the cream of the crop in the Eastern Shores Conference this season, finishing as the league champion.

In turn, the Warbirds also were the best represented on the first team of the All-Eastern Shores squad.

Seniors Alyssa Heim (forward) and Drew Deanovich (defenseman) as well as sophomore goalie Abby Okon all were selected to the top squad, giving the Warbirds three of the six spots.

Also recognized for Fondy/Beaver Dam, a 12-school co-op that also draws from Wayland, Dodgeland and Waupun, were seniors Morgan Brown (forward) and Eve Lundin (defender) and junior Hattie Verstegen (forward), who all earned honorable mention.

Heim led the team in goals during the regular season with 26, and she also tacked on 17 assists to finish as the team leader in points (43) as well.

Deanovich had 10 goals and nine assists from her position on the blue line and was a key piece in the Warbirds’ ability to limit opponents to 1.3 goals per game.

Okon was perhaps the biggest piece in that latter stat, though, as she had .940 save percentage.

Verstegen was second on the team in goals (13) and first in assists (21) to finish second in points.

Lundin had four goals and 12 assists and Brown was third on the team in goals (12) and fourth in points (22).

The Warbirds swept the Fox Cities co-op during the regular season and finished 8-0 in league play, two games ahead of the runner-up Stars (6-2).

But the Stars got the last laugh, winning 5-2 in the WIAA sectional finals to end Fondy/Beaver Dam’s season at 20-3 and prevent it from making a return trip to state.


FIRST TEAM: Forwards — Madelynn Jablonski, Jr., Fox Cities co-op. Alyssa Heim, Sr., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam. Hadley Malcolmson, Jr., Brookfield co-op. Defensemen — Jenna Klenz, Sr., University School of Milwaukee co-op. Drew Deanovich, Sr., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam. Goalie — Abby Okson, Soph., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam.

SECOND TEAM: Forwards — Annika Horman, Jr., Fox Cities co-op. Lauryn Hull, Sr., Fox Cities co-op. Kinzie Youngblood, Sr., University School of Milwaukee co-op. Defensemen — Tori Nelson, Sr., Fox Cities co-op. Taelyn Bintzler, Sr., Brookfield co-op. Goalie — Pistol Cowden, Jr., Wisconsin Valley Union.

HONORABLE MENTION: Forwards — Kirsten Lionardi, Sr., Hartland Arrowhead/Sussex Hamilton co-op. Zoe Sternberg, Sr., Brookfield co-op. Ellie Fuchs, Jr., Brookfield co-op. Madison Anderson, Fr., Green Bay Area co-op. Paige Weir, Sr., Lakeshore Lighting co-op. Anna Gontarski, Jr., Lakeshore Lightning co-op. Gaby Turer, Sr., University School of Milwaukee co-op. Karly Lamoreauz, Sr., University School of Milwaukee. Morgan Brown, Sr., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam. Hattie Verstegen, Jr., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam. Shelby Tryba, Soph., Wisconsin Valley Union. Defensemen — Morgan Treml, Sr., Fox Cities co-op. Katie Benson, Sr., Green Bay Area co-op. Lindsey Schimpf, Sr., Lakeshore Lightning co-op. Eve Lundin, Sr., Fond du Lac/Beaver Dam. Alayna Bruneau, Sr., Wisconsin Valley Union. Libby Hennelly, Sr., University School of Milwaukee. Goalies — Emma Tate, Jr., Hartland Arrowhead/Sussex Hamilton co-op. Kristin Woodcock, Jr., Brookfield co-op. Sami Stommel, Fr., University School of Milwaukee co-op.

Assistant Regional Sports Editor

Capital Newspapers Assistant Regional Sports Editor

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)