Try 1 month for 99¢
Abby Van Beek

Mayville pitcher Abby Van Beek delivers home during the Cardinals' 5-2 loss to Westfield in the WIAA Division 3 regional finals May 25. Van Beek won the Flyway Conference Player of the Year award. 

Mayville’s prep softball team won the Flyway Conference championship rather easily this spring and did so enjoying a spot in the top 10 of the Wisconsin Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association/ Division 3 poll for much of the way.

The Cardinals did so thanks to a loaded roster, and following the season, that roster was showered with accolades.

Sophomore pitcher Abby Van Beek won the league’s Player of the Year award and eight other girls were also honored, including Ally Feucht and Cailie Pliner on the all-conference first team.

Van Beek batted .674 in conference play with four homers, four doubles, a triple and 19 RBIs. She was even more dominant in the circle, posting a 1.00 earned-run average with 70 strikeouts and only 14 walks.

Meanwhile, Feucht batted .561 with three homers, five doubles, a triple and 22 RBIs, while Pliner batted .333 with one homer, three doubles and 10 RBIs and had a 3.78 ERA with 52 strikeouts in the circle.

Second-teamers were Honoria Schabel (.353 batting average, four doubles, two triples and 12 RBIs), Kyra Thoreson (.441, three doubles, 13 RBIs) and Kendall Pliner (.375, two homers, two doubles and 14 RBIs), and Emily Karvala (.455, two doubles, five RBIs).

And receiving honorable mention were Delaney Vetter (.422, four homers, a double, a triple and 12 RBIs) and Ally Luebke (.298, two doubles, seven RBIs).

Mayville was 12-0 in conference play while Lomira took second at 8-4 and Laconia and North Fond du Lac tied for third at 7-5.

The Cardinals were ranked second in Division 3 in the final regular-season poll and ended the year 17-2 after falling to eventual state qualifier Westfield in the WIAA Division 3 regional finals.


Player of the year: Abby Van Beek, Soph., Mayville.


Laconia: Abby Luczak*, Soph., and Hailey Bartz*, Jr. Lomira: Rylee Baetz*, Fr., Hailey DeBoard, Sr., and Samantha Andes, Sr. Mayville: Abby Van Beek*, Soph., Allison Feucht*, Jr., and Cailie Pliner, Sr. North Fond du Lac: Anna Maramonte*, Sr., and Jordan Wood, Jr. Omro: Jadyn Yonke, Jr. Winnebago Lutheran Academy: Jena Krueger*, Sr.


Laconia: Brooklynn Smith, Jr., and Riley Schroeder, Sr. Lomira: Alexia Weber, Jr. Mayville: Honoria Schabel, Jr., Kyra Thoreson, Soph., Kendall Pliner, Fr., and Emily Karvala, Soph. North Fond du Lac: Jordyn Stettbacher, Jr. Omro: Eden Mokler, Jr. St. Mary’s Springs: Lilly Wahl, Soph. Winnebago Lutheran Academy: Lexi Livieri, Sr., and Alayna Suprenand, Fr.


Laconia: Kennedy Krohn, Soph., and Samantha Hamburgur, Soph. Lomira: Taylor Wondra, Sr., Tenley Gassner, Fr., Hannah Verhunce, Jr., and Nicole Steger. Mayville: Delaney Vetter, Soph., and Allison Luebke, Sr. North Fond du Lac: Rebecca Kinsgland, Soph., Kaitlyn King, Soph., and Lily Barker, Sr. Omro: Elizabeth Eichmann, Jr. St. Mary’s Springs: Olivia Spartz, Jr., Emma Rolf, Fr., and Lexi Kuechenberg, Soph. Winnebago Lutheran Academy: Kaylee Frey, Fr.

*Unanimous selection

Assistant Regional Sports Editor

Capital Newspapers Assistant Regional Sports Editor