Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.


  • 0

Columbus Area Historical Society


William Gretzinger, Fall River, and James Farman, Mazomanie, were named Wisconsin’s champion corn growers by the National Corn Growers Association. Gretzinger, who was last year’s national champion, produced 208.88 bushels per acre. He ranked second in the nation in 1971.

Lynette Ebert and Greg Karow were selected as “Students of the Month” by the Columbus Junior High Student Council.


Lowell Larson, publisher emeritus of the Columbus Journal Republican died after a long illness. He was owner, publisher, and editor for 37 years. Larson also operated the Kwik Print Center, a part of Dean Larson Office Supply Co.


The Columbus High School Forensics Team qualified 27 students for the State Forensics Contest at University of Wisconsin-Madison. The team was coached by Ed Zahn, Evelyn Dickmann, and Cindy Streckert.

New carpeting and all the rooms were repainted at the Senior Center.


A donation from Kwik Trip helped a group of Columbus residents work toward preserving the historic Scout Cabin which is located in Fireman’s Park. The log structure was built in 1938 and was used by the scouts until the mid-70s.

Columbus Elementary was the site of the first free Columbus Lions Club Vision Screening Program for children ages 1-5 took place at the school.

Follow us on Facebook at Columbus, WI Area Historical Society, or email The museum is closed for the winter months, but open by appointment.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Portage – James N. “Jim” Waydick, age 92, of Portage, passed away at Meriter Hospital in Madison on Friday, April 9, 2021, with his loving wif…

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News