You are the owner of this article.
BOYS SOCCER: Columbus' Genco, Ott chosen as all-Capitol Conference

BOYS SOCCER: Columbus' Genco, Ott chosen as all-Capitol Conference


Sal Genco found the back of the net plenty this season. He also found his teammates.

And for his efforts, he also found his way onto the all-Capitol Conference awards list.

The senior on Columbus’ prep boys soccer team scored 20 goals and had 11 assists, both team bests, and was chosen as second team all-league.

Genco was responsible for 80% of the Cardinals scoring in 2019 and was the second-leading scorer in the league. He also was 11th in scoring in WIAA Division 4, according to

“He was a great leader on the field, in practice and in the classroom,” Columbus coach Paul Genco said. “He mentored the younger players and tirelessly recruited new players for the team.”

For his career, he had 37 goals and 26 assists for 100 points, leading Columbus in scoring all four years. His continued improvement helped the Cardinals score 40 goals this year after averaging only 23 goals per year from 2016 to 2018.

He wasn’t alone in being honored by the Capitol Conference this season, either, as senior midfielder/defender Hayden Ott received honorable mention.

“Tough and tenacious,” Paul Genco said describing Ott. “His work ethic is second to none — our defensive rock. In the three previous seasons we had given up an average of 100 goals per season. In 2019 the number dropped to 61. Hayden was also a big part of starting our counter offense, taking most of our free kicks in the defensive third.”

Paul Genco said that the two senior captains, along with senior captains Geki Saliu, Nathan Hallberg and Levi Schepp and fellow seniors Matt Suchomel, Peter Klokow and Riku Matsuo “will be dearly missed.”

Saliu, a forward had 8 points (3 goals, 2 assists), while Hallberg, a midfielder, had 6 points (1, 4) and Schepp, a defender, had 4 points (2, 0). Suchomel and Klokow, both defenders, didn’t score but did their part stopping the other team’s attack. Matsuo, a midfielder, had 4 points (1, 2).


Co-Players of the Year — John Wilke, Jr., Lake Mills and Charlie Douma, Sr., Sugar River.

First team: Forwards — Gavin Childs, Jr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Breckin Faber, Jr., Sugar River; John Wilke, Jr., Lake Mills; Will Van Dinter, Jr., Wisconsin Dells. Midfielders — Charlie Douma, Sr., Sugar River; Caeben Schomber, Jr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Ryan Downing, Soph., Sugar River; Adam Brands, Sr., Watertown Luther Prep; AJ Karls, Jr., Lodi; Zach Huffman, Soph., Cambridge/Deerfield. Defenders — Tyler Stampfl, Jr., Sugar River; Brodie Trollop, Jr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Ben Incha, Sr., Cambridge/Deerfield; Camden Schultz, Sr., Lake Mills. Keeper — Carson Richter, Jr., Lodi.

Second team: Forwards — Salvatore Genco, Sr., Columbus; Carter Siegenthaler, Soph., Sugar River; Brandon Her, Jr., Cambridge/Deerfield. Midfielders — Jailen Ortega, Soph., Lake Mills; Matthew Brisky, Sr., Lodi; Rhead Jacobus, Sr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Owen Ernest, Sr., Watertown Luther Prep. Defenders — Zair Palacios, Jr., Watertown Luther Prep; Owen Odegard, Sr., Sugar River; Brayden Cymbalak, Sr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld. Keeper — Julian Lutz, Sr., Sugar River.

Honorable mention: Forwards — Drew Stoddard, Jr., Lake Mills; Nathaniel Karls, Sr., Lodi; Sam King, Fr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Isaias Santos, Sr., Watertown Luther Prep; Seth Hayden, Sr., Dodgeland/Hustisford. Midfielders — Nicholas Sabey, Jr., Wisconsin Dells; Kyle Main, Soph., Lakeside Lutheran; Tyler Lueschow, Sr., Sugar River; Ben Lukszys, Sr., Sugar River; Brayden Ciesiolka, Soph., Lake Mills; Ayden Moynihan, Sr., Cambridge/Deerfield; Brady Ziegler, Jr., Lodi; Noah Ziperski, Sr., Sugar River. Defenders — Ben Zieser, Sr., Lodi; Jake Hale, Sr., Wisconsin Dells; Carter Roekle, Jr., Lakeside Lutheran; Hayden Ott, Sr., Columbus; Zach Veling, Jr., Lodi; Anton Bednarski, Jr., Dodgeland/Hustisford; Jed Mittelstadt, Jr., Watertown Luther Prep; Lucas Hart, Soph., Lake Mills. Keepers — Trevor Dimpfl, Jr., Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld; Ben Fish, Sr., Wisconsin Dells; Carson Galla, Sr., Cambridge/Deerfield; Caleb Heckendorf, Sr., Watertown Luther Prep; Connor Dean, Sr., Lake Mills.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News