You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
PREP BASEBALL: New Lisbon’s Rogers named 2019 Scenic Bluffs Player of the Year

PREP BASEBALL: New Lisbon’s Rogers named 2019 Scenic Bluffs Player of the Year


During the 2019 season, Sam Rogers did a little bit of everything for the New Lisbon Rockets.

The New Lisbon senior, who spent most of his time either on the mound or behind the plate at catcher, thrived in all his roles this year. Thanks to his all-around stellar performance, Rogers was named the 2019 Scenic Bluffs Conference Player of the Year.

At the plate, Rogers was a force to be reckoned with. He slashed .468/.603/.745 on the year for a sparkling OPS of 1.348. He had similar success on the mound. Rogers gave up 19 earned runs in 48 innings pitched for an ERA of 2.77. He was also a strikeout machine. Rogers punched out an eye-boggling 90 batters in his 48 innings while walking 26 and plunking six batters.

This is Rogers’s third consecutive appearance on the all-conference first team.

Joining Rogers on the first team was Necedah junior pitcher/shortstop Jaron Murphy and Royall senior pitcher/outfielder Arien Nordstrom. Murphy has now been an all-conference first-team selection in all three of his seasons with the Cardinals.

Other all-conference first-team picks were Bangor senior catcher Noah Freit, Bangor freshman pitcher/first baseman Ashton Michek, Bangor senior pitcher/infielder Dylan Sprain, Brookwood sophomore pitcher/shortstop Kaden Brandau, Brookwood senior pitcher/shortstop Aaron Dwyer, Cashton senior pitcher/catcher Ty Costello, Cashton senior third baseman Kole Ripley, Hillsboro senior pitcher/catcher Dane Bach and Hillsboro senior pitcher/shortstop Nick Stekel.

Bangor’s Michek was named the 2019 Scenic Bluffs Conference Pitcher of the Year.

Necedah’s Ryan Nixon and Mekhi Baradji, New Lisbon’s Jon Olson and Cody Haschke, Royall’s Max Benish and Keith Schnurr and Wonewoc-Center’s Andrew Jacobson and Taylor Geitz were among this year’s all-conference honorable mentions.

This season’s sportsmanship award winners included Necedah’s Logan Williams, New Lisbon’s James Steele, Royall’s Fletcher Green and Wonewoc-Center’s Dylan Degner.

Bangor claimed the 2019 Scenic Bluffs Conference championship by posting a 13-1 record in league play. Hillsboro followed in second with an 11-3 conference record. The two teams split their pair of regular-season meetings: an 11-0 Hillsboro win April 1 in both teams’ season opener and an 8-2 Bangor victory several weeks later on April 25. The home team won both games.

The Cardinals and the Tigers met once more in the Division 4 sectional semifinals for a postseason rubber match. Bangor emerged victorious with a convincing 10-0 win. The Cardinals then fell to Belmont 14-1 in the sectional finals.

Brookwood and Cashton each went 9-5 in Scenic Bluffs play to tie for third in the conference standings. New Lisbon and Royall tied for fifth at 6-8. Necedah was seventh at 2-12 and Wonewoc-Center went 0-14 to take eighth.

Follow Zach Rastall on Twitter

@zrastall17 or contact him at 608-697-7943.

Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News