Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Mayoral races in Mayville and Horicon will be among the races on local ballots in April.

Many other seats are uncontested and in a few cases there are no candidates on the ballot, including some county board seats that have extended deadlines for those still interested in running.

City of Beaver Dam: Beaver Dam will have two aldermanic races in April. Therese Henriksen will challenge incumbent Mary Flaherty for a seat in Ward 2. In Ward 12, incumbent Dan Doyle and Donna Maly, a former city council member who previously represented the district, will square off.

City of Horicon: Steve Neitzel, who has been the mayor of Horicon since 2012, filed non-candidacy papers, but voters will have a choice of experienced candidates after Nathan Anfinson and James Grigg field to run. Anfinson is the Horicon City Council President, and Grigg is a former mayor. On the ballot for council in Horicon are incumbent Richard Marschke in District 1, Forrest A. Frami in District 2 and Harold Vanderhei in District 3. Carl Fausett, current District 3 alderman, filed non-candidacy papers.

City of Mayville: In Mayville, the mayoral race will be joined on the ballot by three seats on the city council. Mayor Rob Boelk is seeking re-election, while David Koch has submitted papers to challenge Boelk. Council members Bob Smith (Ward 2), Gene Frings (Wards 4, 7 and 8) and Kim Olson (Ward 6) have all filed candidacy papers to seek another term.

City of Fox Lake: Fox Lake has one opposed race. The incumbent Tom Jahnke has been challenged by Donald Zilewicz for the Ward 1 council seat. Mayor Tom Bednarek will run unopposed as will Ward 2 incumbent Alderman Dan Ault and Ward 3 Alderman incumbent Dennis Linke.

City of Waupun: For Waupun, the mayoral seat is currently occupied by Julie Nickel. District 2 Alderman Peter Kaczmarski, District 4 Alderman Michael Matoushek Jr. and District 6 Alderwoman Nancy Vanderkin are all seeking re-election. All incumbents are running unopposed in the spring election.

Dodge County Board of Supervisors: All 33 seats for the Dodge County Board of Supervisors are up for election. Incumbents who filed non-candidacy papers are Ed Nelson, District 4; Janice Bobholz, District 5; Jeremy Bartsch, District 14; Jeffry Duchac, District 25; and Glenn Stousland, District 31.

District 4 has a contested race with Evonne Boettge of Beaver Dam and Dale Macheel of Randolph both running. Jeffrey Schmitt filed papers for the District 5 seat. Eugene Wurtz filed papers for the District 14 seat. Kevin Burnett filed papers for the District 31 seat. No one has filed papers for the District 25 seat.

In Districts 15 and 26, the incumbents did not file papers to run and did not file a notification of non-candidacy by the required deadline. Therefore, the deadline to file paperwork to run for these two seats has been extended by 72 hours (5 p.m. Friday) for anyone but the incumbents.

Beaver Dam School Board: The Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education has three seats up for election. The incumbents, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus Jr. and Gary Spielman, are the only names that will appear on the ballot.

Columbus School Board: There are four people seeking three seats on the Columbus School Board. Running are Bill Braun, Julie Hajewski, John A. Sanderson and Barbara Hesselberg.

Randolph School Board: Randolph Board of Education has two seats on the ballot. Incumbent Laurie Boomsma will run again, as will incumbent Gary DeVries. Neither faces a challenger.

Waupun Area School Board: There are two seats up for re-election on the Waupun Board of Education. The district at-large seat is an open seat. Incumbent Kathy Schlieve filed notification of non-candidacy. Stephen Chene and Kim Pokorny will face each other for that seat. Incumbent Ronald Paul will run unopposed for the seat for the city of Fox Lake and towns of Fox Lake and Westford in the Waupun District.

Horicon School Board: Horicon School Board has four positions up for election this spring. Three-year terms are available for the seats representing the city of Horicon, currently held by David Westimayer; the town of Hubbard/Oak Grove, currently held by James Ketchem; and the village of Iron Ridge/town of Williamstown, currently held by Erin Krause-Emerick. A special election will also occur for a one-year term for a seat representing the city of Horicon, currently held by held by Amanda White.