2006 State Champions inducted in Hall of Fame

The 2006 Portage High School baseball team, which won the program's first state championship, will be inducted into the PHS Hall of Fame later this month.

The Greater Portage Youth Education Foundation, Inc. will host the Portage High School Hall of Fame Banquet and Golf Outing on June 29, in which the 2006 Portage prep baseball team will be inducted into the hall.

Space is limited and attendees must sign up in advance; email info@gpyef.org, bublitzs@mbegcpas.com or tbressers@stifel.com, or visit gpyef.org.

The 2006 Warriors made history as the first Portage team to go to the state tournament, where they won the WIAA Division 2 championship.

Team captains Matt Kabele and Steve Considine led the way. Both were first-team All-Badger North Conference picks, and Kabele was second-team All-State.

Kabele was the team’s shortstop and a pitcher. He picked up the pitching wins in the regional final, sectional final, and state championship game.

“You can’t find a tougher guy, and more poised player than Matt,” Portage coach Mike Hemming said of Kabele.

Considine was the team’s catcher, who made sure things were done right and players listened. Teams never stole a lot of bases or advanced on passed balls. Hemming was always struck by his work ethic and passion for the game.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Additional first-team all-conference performers were center fielder and leadoff hitter Sean Luedeman and pitcher Devin Bressers. Hemming said Luedeman was the team’s sparkplug, both offensively and defensively. Bressers earned victories for the Warriors in the regional opener and state semifinal.

Other seniors included outfielder Tom Coleman, infielder Nick Leahy, designated hitter Tyler Feucht and infielder Jon Heesch.

Coleman had only one error the whole season. Feucht hit over .300 with 23 hits. Leahy played first base for the first time at state and played it flawlessly. Heesch played second base and shortstop. When Kabele pitched, the defense never lost a beat. Heesch also led the team in runs scored.

The 2006 Portage squad had good young players that helped as well: juniors Renn Scott, Trevin Kreier, Jake Friend and Brennan Walz; sophomores Cody Schmidt, Wes Doleshaw, Will Clark and Dylan Herman; and freshman Greg Koch.

The Warriors’ dream season included a Badger North title and a 15-game winning streak to end the year.

The coaching staff consisted of Mike Hemming, Matt Denure and Jerry Kabele.

Sean Malone is a Portage native and Portage High School ’82 graduate. He has been involved in the creation of the PHS Hall of Fame and other PHS Alumni endeavors. He can be reached at malone845@hotmail.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)