Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Portage FBLA

Thirteen Portage High School students qualified for the Future Business Leaders of America's national competition after performing well in state competition held last week in La Crosse. Pictured, front row, left to right: Emma Shortreed, Annika Hentz, Olivia Ryan, Tess Wilson and Natalie Hamm. Second row, left to right: Kayla Kinzler, Hunter Warzecha, Hannah Ness, Carissa Weber, Riley Rieckmann and Travis Miller. Absent from the photo are Erin Kibby and Emma Goldthorpe.

Twelve Portage High School students will travel to Baltimore this summer after qualifying for Future Business Leaders of America Nationals.

Forty students competed in the FBLA state competition held last week in La Crosse, where, as a team, Portage High School finished third overall out of 120 schools.

The school finished behind only Menomonee Falls and Wrightstown.

“I am one very proud FBLA Adviser,” Jan Imhoff said in an email. “The students who qualified for Nationals definitely deserve to be going.”

Thirteen students, including six seniors, advanced to Baltimore, but the school will send 12 because junior Travis Miller will be participating in the school’s German Exchange trip.

Nationals will be held from June 26 to July 2.

Senior Emma Shortreed placed first in three state competitions: Job Interview; Who’s Who in Wisconsin FBLA; and Local Chapter Annual Business Report, as part of a team that also included Miller, senior Annika Hentz, junior Hunter Warzecha, junior Emma Goldthorpe, junior Carissa Weber and sophomore Hannah Ness.

Shortreed, Hentz and Miller also placed second in American Enterprise Project.

Shortreed’s Who’s Who in FBLA award took into consideration all of her successes over her four years of membership, including her conferences attended, committees led and offices held. Shortreed — who served this year as an FBLA state officer — will take the stage with other Who’s Who winners from across the U.S. during Nationals in Baltimore, Imhoff said.

Other Portage students who qualified for Nationals included senior Natalie Hamm and junior Tess Wilson for placing fourth in Business Plan; Warzecha, Goldthorpe and senior Kayla Kinzler for placing third in Social Media Campaign; junior Riley Rieckmann for placing third in Word Processing; senior Olivia Ryan and Hentz for placing second in Broadcast Journalism; and senior Erin Kibby for placing second in Business Communication.

Ness campaigned for and won Wisconsin FBLA State secretary/treasurer, the state officer position Shortreed held in 2017-18.

“Each group and individual worked extremely hard to prepare for their tests, interviews, speeches and presentations,” Imhoff said. “Their energy, professionalism and drive to succeed definitely made a difference, and I’m so incredibly happy for them.”

“Now the students will start the process of tweaking their events to make them even better before the national conference.”

Follow Noah Vernau on Twitter @NoahVernau

Portage Daily Register reporter