Try 1 month for 99¢

Cambria-Friesland junior infielder Colt Wentland and Montello junior outfielder Parker Stelter led area baseball players to be recognized in the Trailways North Conference this season, as both were named to the league’s first team of the 2018 season.

Wentland was one of the leading hitters in the Trailways North this spring, finishing with a .415 batting average ,which ranked fifth in the conference. Wentland’s 11 stolen bases were the seventh most in the league, while he also had eight RBI, three doubles and 12 runs scored on the year for a Cambria-Friesland squad that finished 4-12 in the conference.

Stelter was the leading hitter for a Montello team that was 6-8 in conference play. Stelter batted .353 o the year with five RBI, four stolen bases, three doubles and 11 runs scored.

Earning second team honors in the Trailways North from the area was Cambria-Friesland sophomore outfielder Max Raymond. Raymond batted .380 with seven stolen bases, seven RBI, three doubles and 11 runs scored.

The group of area players who received honorable mention in the Trailways North included Cambria-Friesland junior Colten DeJager, Pardeeville senior Kaden Osterhaus, Pardeeville freshman Peter Freye and Montello senior Alex Postler.

DeJager batted .286 on the year for the Toppers with eight RBI, four doubles and eight runs scored.

Osterhaus batted .244 for Pardeeville in his final year with the Bulldogs. He had two triples, a double and eight RBI. Freye had a standout first year with the Bulldogs. He batted .370 with five stolen bases, 11 RBI, two doubles and 13 runs scored.

Postler’s final season in a Montello uniform saw him bat .324 with six RBI, three doubles and 10 runs scored.

Markesan junior Shane Ryan was named the Player of the Year in the Trailways North Conference this season. Ryan batted a league-best .538 while collecting 26 RBI with one home run, one triple, 10 doubles and 17 runs scored. Ryan Also went 5-2 on the mound for the Hornets with a 0.74 earned run average. In 37 2/3 innings, Ryan had 16 walks and 58 strikeouts.

Three from Rio honored

The Rio prep baseball team had a trio of players receive All-Trailways South Conference honors this season, led by senior Bryce Staveness. The senior infielder ranked third in the conference with a .500 batting average (19-for-38). He finished with 13 RBI to go along with one home run, one triple and six doubles.

Senior Trajan Prochnow was named a second team catcher for the Vikings. Prochnow batted .361 on the season with 10 RBI. His two home runs tied for the second most in the conference. He also had a double and 11 runs scored for the Vikings.

Earning honorable mention for Rio was sophomore Carter Seth, who batted .412 on the spring with six RBI and two doubles.

Palmyra-Eagle senior Lonnie Garlock was the Player of the Year in the Trailways South. He batted .436 with a league-leading five home runs. He also had seven doubles and 18 runs scored. Garlock also pitched 26 1/3 innings for Palmyra-Eagle, finishing with a 2.39 ERA with 22 walks and 41 strikeouts.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Shane Ryan, Jr., Markesan.

FIRST TEAM: Pitcher – Shane Ryan, Jr., Markesan. Catcher – BJ Konkel, So., Green Lake/Princeton. Infielders – Al Van Crete, Sr., Green Lake/Princeton; Parker Dietzel, Sr., Oakfield; Colt Wentland, Jr., Cambria-Friesland; Austin Syvertson, Sr., Randolph. Outfielders – Brandon Kuphal, Sr., Markesan; Buxton Toutant, So., Green Lake/Princeton; Parker Stelter, Jr., Montello. Utility – Drew Bernhagen, Sr., Markesan.

SECOND TEAM: Pitcher – Luke Morgan, Jr., Green Lake/Princeton. Catcher – Craig Plagenz, Jr., Markesan. Infielders – Ian Sobojinski, Jr., Oshkosh Lourdes/Valley; John Holewinski, Sr., Oshkosh Lourdes/Valley; Jacob Cedar, Jr., Oakfield; Ethan Tapp, Sr., Oakfield; Brad Myers, Jr., Green Lake/Princeton. Outfielders – Colton Clark, Jr., Oshkosh Lourdes/Valley; Max Margelofsky, Jr., Oakfield; Max Raymond, So., Cambria-Friesland. Utility – Cobey Alderden, Jr., Randolph.

HONORABLE MENTION – Colten DeJager, Jr., Cambria-Friesland; Kaden Osterhaus, Sr., Pardeeville; Peter Freeye, Fr., Pardeeville; Jack Dolan, Jr., Oshkosh Lourdes/Valley; Jake Roberts, Jr., Randolph; Tanner Drews, Sr., Green Lake/Princeton; Austin Triggs, Sr., Markesan; Tyler Franke, Jr., Oakfield; Alex Postler, Sr., Montello.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Lonnie Garlock, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle.

FIRST TEAM: Pitcher – Austin Kwiat, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle. Catchers – Caleb Gavin, Jr., Hustisford/Dodgeland; Derek Stefanczyk, So., Palmyra-Eagle. Infielders – Lonnie Garlock, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Tyler Molloy, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Justin Swanson, So., Johnson Creek; Bryce Staveness, Sr., Rio. Outfielders – Hunter Nehls, Sr., Horicon; Sawyer Weinreich, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Hayden Pratt, Sr., Deerfield. Utility – Eli Hoscheit, Jr., Parkview.

SECOND TEAM: Pitcher – Collin Grudzinksi, Sr., Hustisford/Dodgeland. Catcher – Trajan Prochnow, Sr., Rio. Infield – Carson Knapp, Jr., Deerfield; Austin Pfeil, Sr., Williams Bay; Ean Reichert, Sr., Johnson Creek; Dylan Schmitt, So., Hustisford/Dodgeland; Calvin Grudzinski, Sr., Hustisford/Dodgeland. Outfielders – Bryce Henningsen, Jr., Johnson Creek; Zach Kehl, So., Hustisford/Dodgeland; Riley Carroll, Sr., Parkview; Jarrett Brown, Jr., Parkview. Utility – Tom Schueller, Sr., Palmyra-Eagle.

HONORABLE MENTION – Jared Klein, Jr., Fall River; Luke Figol, Jr., Fall River; Justin Balch, Jr., Parkview; Keegan Wodill, Jr., Fall River; Josh Kirchberg, Sr., Fall River; Jack Kuiper, Jr., Williams Bay; Carter Seth, So., Rio; Maxx Livingston, Sr., Horicon; Dakota Grueneberg, Jr., Hustisford/Dodgeland; Tyler Haak, So., Deerfield; Bow Hartwig, Fr., Johnson Creek.

Regional Sports Editor

Capital Newspapers Regional Sports Editor