You are the owner of this article.
PREP BOYS BASKETBALL: Drew earns All-SCC second team honors for Westfield

PREP BOYS BASKETBALL: Drew earns All-SCC second team honors for Westfield

Derek Drew

Westfield senior Derek Drew earned All-South Central Conference second team honors this season for the Pioneers.

One year after having an injury cut his junior season to just 10 games, Westfield senior Derek Drew bounced back to play a full season and lead the school’s boys basketball team to a turnaround campaign that saw the Pioneers win 11 more games than it did the previous year.

With Drew leading the way, Westfield finished the season 14-10 overall. That was a huge improvement over last season, when Westfield went 3-20 overall with Drew missing over half the season. The 14 wins for Westfield were the most wins in a season for the program since the Pioneers went 15-9 in 2013-14.

Drew’s efforts didn’t go unnoticed this season, as he was named to the All-South Central Conference second team the conference recently announced. Drew was the lone player for Westfield to earn all-conference honors.

Drew, a 6-foot-3 forward, led Westfield in scoring with 12.7 points per game, and was second on the team in rebounds with 7.8 boards per contest. Drew had a season-high 24 points in a 79-71 win over Omro on Dec. 5. He recorded four double-doubles on the season, including 10 points and 16 rebounds in a 48-26 season-opening win over Princeton/Green Lake on Nov. 26.

Drew also averaged 1.3 assists and 1.7 steals per game on the season.

Of the 10 players to earn first- or second-team honors in the SCC, eight of them were seniors, including all five players on the first team. Conference-champion Wisconsin Dells had three first-team selections, including Bryson Funmaker, Sam Millard and Brett Hirst. They were joined on the All-SCC first team by Mauston’s Cade Hall and Wautoma’s Kade Panich.

Hall, who was the SCC’s Player of the Year last season as a junior, shared the honor this year, as he and Funmaker were named the league’s Co-Players of the Year.

This was the third straight year Westfield failed to land anyone on the All-SCC’s first team. The last Pioneer to earn first-team honors was junior Nick Brakebush in 2017.


Co-players of the year: Cade Hall, Sr., Mauston and Bryson Funmaker, Sr., Wisconsin Dells.

First team: *Cade Hall, Sr., Mauston; *Sam Millard, Sr., Wisconsin Dells; *Bryson Funmaker, Sr., Wisconsin Dells; Kade Panich, Sr., Wautoma; Brett Hirst, Sr., Wisconsin Dells.

*Unanimous selection.

Second team: Derek Drew, Sr., Westfield; Caleb Hamilton, Jr., Adams-Friendship; Gage Kobylski, Sr., Mauston; Adon Saylor, So., Mauston; Riley Eck, Sr., Wisconsin Dells.

Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News