For the second year in a row, Westfield finished the season as the South Central Conference champions, and the Pioneers were rewarded for their successful season as five players earned all-conference honors at season’s end, including four who were unanimous first-team picks.

Pitcher Hannah Hockerman led the charge for the Pioneers as the South Central Conference Player of the Year for the second year in the row. The junior right-hander was tough on hitters all season, finishing the year with an 11-3 record and a 1.70 earned run average. In 115 innings pitched, Hockerman struck out a staggering 212 batters, while walking just 34. Opposing hitters had just a .169 batting average against Hockerman.

Hockerman was no slouch at the plate, either. She finished with a .367 batting average, slugging a pair of home runs, along with a triple and five doubles.

Juniors Taylor Bignell, Tayha Reetz and Abbey Weishaar joined Hockerman on the All-South Central first team, all as unanimous selections.

Bignell was a unanimous pick at catcher for a second year in a row. She batted .377 with a team-leading four home runs. She drove in 15 runs, and had six double and a triple.

Reetz, who was a second-team pick a year ago as a sophomore, had a big year at the plate this spring as a junior, earning her a spot on the first team as an infielder. Reetz led the team with a .431 batting average and 26 RBIs. She also scored 26 runs and had eight doubles.

Weishaar earned all-conference honors for the first time this spring as an outfielder. She batted .266, scoring 25 runs, with three doubles and six RBI.

Freshman Trista Drew was a second-team selection as a designated player for Westfield. She established herself as big bat in the lineup early on and finished her first season with a .418 batting average. Drew drove in 22 runs, had seven doubles and two triples, while scoring 16 runs.

Westfield’s conference championship didn’t come easy. After a 3-1 loss in Wisconsin Dells, the Pioneers fell two games behind Nekoosa in the conference standings. Westfield didn’t lose again in the conference season, while the Papermakers lost three straight to finish their season — including once to the Pioneers — allowing Westfield to finish alone on top the standings, one game ahead of Nekoosa and Wisconsin Dells.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Hannah Hockerman, Jr., Westfield.

FIRST TEAM: Catchers — *Taylor Bignell, Jr., Westfield; Baylee Babcock, Jr., Mauston. Designated player — Peyton Hiller, Sr., Adams-Friendship. Infielders — *Marissa Harnisch, Jr., Nekoosa; *Kenzie Ralls, Sr., Wautoma; *Tayha Reetz, Jr., Westfield; *Kayla Gray, So., Wisconsin Dells. Outfielders — *Madison Bills, So., Nekoosa; *Abbey Weishaar, Jr., Westfield; *Kristina Warren, So., Wisconsin Dells. Pitchers — *Hannah Hockerman, Jr., Westfield; Anna Schaefbauer, So., Nekoosa; Bri Handel, Fr., Wautoma.

<&SPAGEm>*unanimous selection</&SPAGEm>

SECOND TEAM: Catchers — Maddie Jones, So., Wisconsin Dells; Mackenzie Koats, Sr., Wautoma. Designated player — Trista Drew, Fr., Westfield. Infielders — Kiteara Malueg, So., Mauston; Amanda Schaefbauer, Jr., Nekoosa; Brooke Blader-Lucht, So., Wautoma; Grace Myklebust, Sr., Wisconsin Dells. Outfielders — AJ Jander, Fr., Wautoma; Kyra Bula, So., Adams-Friendship; Cassandra Mortel, Sr., Nekoosa. Pitchers — Gracie Walker, So., Wisconsin Dells; Peyton Hiller, Sr., Adams-Friendship.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)