Try 3 months for $3

Will Fuhrmann and Carter Daniels will go into their senior years as returning All-Badger North Conference selections.

Fuhrmann used a big 2018-19 season to receive unanimous first-team All-Badger North honors, while Daniels earned honorable mention recognition.

Fuhrmann, an honorable mention pick last year, morphed into the go-to option for a young Reedsburg team this winter, scoring 16.8 points per game from the point guard position. The junior got it done all over the floor, also leading the Beavers with 6.3 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 2.4 steals per game.

“Will has led us as a team in just about every statistical category,” Reedsburg head coach Josh Rupnow said. “He’s one of our top defenders in addition to being a potent offensive threat. His best quality may be how great a person he is. He excels in the classroom and that shows with his intelligence on the court too.”

Daniels averaged 10.5 points per game, tying Zach Bestor for second on the team. Daniels was also second with 5.9 rebounds per game, including grabbing a team-best 60 offensive rebounds. The junior added 1.8 assists and 1.7 steals per game.

“In addition to being a top performer for us in terms of points and rebounds, Carter leads us vocally and really drives us to work harder and push through tough stretches in games,” Rupnow said. “He embodies what we preach as coaches in terms of being tough, getting on the floor, and not ever backing down or giving up.”

The all-conference duo led the Beavers to a 13-12 record this season, including going 6-8 to tie for fifth in in the Badger North. Sixth-seeded Reedsburg put together a postseason run, notching wins over Baraboo and McFarland before suffering a 54-50 overtime loss in a regional final at DeForest on March 2.

The Beavers’ top-four scorers — Fuhrmann, Daniels, Bestor and Max Tully (10.3 points per game) — will all return next season. Reedsburg will lose Jacob Dregney, Brayden Schirmacher, Adam Belk and Wyatt Molitor to graduation.

Badger North champion Mount Horeb was the lone team to put multiple players on the all-conference first team. Seniors Gunnar Nortman and Jason Larson represented the Vikings on the first team, while Fuhrmann, DeForest senior Austin Westra and Portage senior Eli Considine rounded out the first team. Westra was named the conference’s offensive player of the year.



Austin Westra*, sr., DeForest; Gunnar Nortman*, sr., Mount Horeb; Jason Larson*, sr., Mount Horeb; Eli Considine*, sr., Portage; Will Fuhrmann*, jr., Reedsburg.

<&SPAGEm>*unanimous selection</&SPAGEm>

Offensive Player of the Year — Austin Westra, sr., DeForest.


Cade Ferron, sr., Beaver Dam; Trey Schroeder, jr., DeForest; Bryce Farnsworth, sr., Mount Horeb; Jack Henderson, sr., Sauk Prairie; Will Knatz, sr., Waunakee.


Caden Blum, sr., Baraboo; Nate Abel, so., Beaver Dam; Cody Riggs, sr., DeForest; Jack Bogan, sr., DeForest; Dustin Zenz, sr., Mount Horeb; Owen Ziegler, jr., Mount Horeb; Carter Daniels; jr., Reedsburg; Spencer Breunig, sr., Sauk Prairie; Josh Cash, sr., Waunakee; Zach Deering, sr., Waunakee; Josh Block, sr., Waunakee.

Follow Brock Fritz on Twitter


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)