Try 3 months for $3

Riley Jelinek is one of four boys hockey players to be a unanimous first-team All-Badger North Conference pick in 2018-19.

Jelinek, one of four Sauk Prairie co-op players to receive honors, was named a first-team all-conference forward after leading the state of Wisconsin in regular-season points. The Sauk Prairie junior compiled 79 points in 24 games, tallying 33 goals and 46 assists.

Jelinek added five points in two postseason games. The fourth-seeded Eagles received a first-round bye before Jelinek scored the game-winning goal in a 6-5 overtime win over La Crosse Aquinas/Holmen in a WIAA regional final. Sauk Prairie went on to lose an 8-1 sectional semifinal game at the Onalaska co-op on Feb. 19.

Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells/Mauston’s Derek Pawlak, Jon Zobel and Cooper Oakes were the other unanimous selections to the six-player first team.

Camden Desroches, Willy Hanson and Hakan Peterson also earned All-Badger North recognition for the Sauk Prairie co-op.

Desroches was a second-team forward after notching 60 points — 29 goals and 31 assists — in 24 regular-season games. The Wisconsin Heights junior had a team-high six points in the playoffs, tallying three goals and three assists.

Hanson, of Wisconsin Heights, was named a second-team defenseman after a junior season in which he had two goals and 12 assists in 26 total games.

Peterson was Sauk Prairie’s lone honorable mention selection. The Mount Horeb freshman defenseman was fourth on the team with 16 regular-season points, scoring one goal while tallying 15 assists.

The four all-conference selections, who can all return next year, led a young Sauk Prairie team to a 13-10-1 record, including going 4-5-1 to finish third in the Badger North.



Forwards – Sam VanderHoeven, sr., Beaver Dam; Derek Pawlak*, sr., Reedsburg co-op; Riley Jelinek*, jr., Sauk Prairie. Defensemen – Jon Zobel*, sr., Reedsburg co-op; Drew Christianson, so., Waunakee. Goalie – Cooper Oakes*, fr., Reedsburg co-op.


Forwards – Daniel Smolen, jr., Beaver Dam; Camden Desroches, jr., Sauk Prairie; Danny Reis, so., Waunakee; Mason Ihrke, sr., Waunakee. Defensemen – Joe Zemanovic, sr., Baraboo; Willy Hanson, jr., Sauk Prairie. Goalie – Hunter Beck, jr., Waunakee.


Baraboo/Portage – Luna Larson, fr.; Gabe Larson, sr.; Dane Hinz, jr. DeForest co-op – Jack Hagen, sr. Reedsburg co-op – Connor Schyvinck, so.; Thomas Pfaff, jr. Sauk Prairie – Hakan Peterson, fr. Waunakee – Keegan Ripley, sr.

Follow Brock Fritz on Twitter


Capital Newspapers Regional Sports Reporter