Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Sauk Prairie co-op was the only Badger North Conference boys hockey team to have multiple first-team all-conference selections this season. Senior defenseman Dayne Leonard and senior goalie Dakota Pickhard did the trick, receiving first-team honors after leading the Eagles to a 16-5-1 overall record and a third-place finish in the Badger North.

The Eagles had four total players earn all-conference accolades, as Riley Jelinek and Camden Desroches each earned honorable mention nods.

Pickhard had a big senior season in goal, playing every game and posting a 1.92 goals-against average and a .921 save percentage in 20 regular season games. Pickhard opened the postseason by notching a shutout in Sauk Prairie’s 8-0 regional win over Viroqua, his fourth shutout of the season. Pickhard made 29 saves in the season-ending 4-0 regional final loss at West Salem on Feb. 15. It was the second all-conference honor for Pickhard, who was a second-team All-Badger North pick last season.

Leonard also took a jump as a senior, improving from an honorable mention pick last season to a first-team selection this year. Leonard finished with 20 goals and 18 assists on the season, improving from his nine-goal, 10-assist numbers as a junior.

Jelinek tallied a team-high 49 points, finishing with 18 goals and a team-leading 31 assists. The sophomore, who scored three of Sauk Prairie’s eight postseason goals, has led the Eagles in points the last two years, also collecting 25 points as a freshman.

Desroches earned honorable mention recognition for the second straight year after leading Sauk Prairie with 22 goals. The sophomore added 19 assists and finished with 41 points, tallying 17 more points than he did last season.

The all-conference quartet continued to turn the Sauk Prairie program around. The Eagles had won five or fewer games in three straight seasons before they went 13-11-2 in 2016-17 and 16-5-1 in 2017-18.

Leonard and Pickhard were joined on the first team by Reedsburg/Wisconsin Dells/Mauston’s Dylan Brown, Beaver Dam’s Sam VanderHoeven, DeForest co-op’s Trent Bachman and Waunakee’s Jeremy Werner. Brown was the lone unanimous selection.

Follow Brock Fritz on Twitter @BrockFritz

Capital Newspapers Regional Sports Reporter