You are the owner of this article.
PREP WRESTLING: Eagles place ten wrestlers on all-Badger North team

PREP WRESTLING: Eagles place ten wrestlers on all-Badger North team


Another successful Sauk Prairie wrestling season led to 10 Eagles making the all-Badger North Conference team.

The Eagles earned a share of their seventh straight Badger North Conference title and sent five individuals to the WIAA Division 1 state championships.

That success led to five first-team all-conference selections in Zeke Smith (106 pounds), Dylan Herbrand (113), Gavin Lankey (126), Drew Fjoser (138) and Logan Moore (220).

Sauk Prairie’s second-team honorees were Nick Zech (120), Isaac Pape (170), Vincent Walsh (182) and Konnor McNeal.

Miguel Elizondo (152) was the lone Eagle to earn honorable mention recognition.

Sauk Prairie led the Badger North in all-conference selections, while Waunakee was second with six all-conference honorees.

Fjoser, a senior, led the Eagles at state, taking third for the second straight year. Smith, a junior, placed fourth in his first trip to state. Herbrand, Moore and McNeal also competed at the state meet in February.

Sauk Prairie also handed out team awards following the season.

Fjoser was named Varsity Most Outstanding Player, Most Exciting Wrestler and had a team-high 72 takedowns on the season.

Smith finished with a team-leading 21 pins and was named the Team Motivator.

Tommy Lehman earned the Varsity Most Improved award, while Dawson Enge was named the Rookie of the Year.

On junior varsity, Jed Accola was named Most Improved and Cam Maier was Most Outstanding.

Austin Rider, Sawyer Ladd, Baxter Peetz, Smith and Moore received the Academic Excellence Award.



106 – Zeke Smith, jr., Sauk Prairie. 113 – Dylan Herbrand, jr., Sauk Prairie. 120 – Mason McMillen, jr., Reedsburg. 126 – Gavin Lankey, jr., Sauk Prairie. 132 – Dylan Casey, jr., Portage. 138 – Drew Fjoser, sr., Sauk Prairie. 145 – Austin Rauls, jr., DeForest. 152 – Nate Lorenz, sr., Waunakee. 160 – Greg Fischer, jr., DeForest. 170 – Trey Haugen, sr., Reedsburg. 182 – Jackson Hemauer, sr., DeForest. 195 – Dalton Hahn, sr., Reedsburg. 220 – Logan Moore, sr., Sauk Prairie. 285 – Alan Olkowski, jr., Waunakee


106 – Cayden Fry, fr., Reedsburg. 113 – Eli Davidson, fr., Baraboo. 120 – Nick Zech, sr., Sauk Prairie. 126 – Pablo Ramirez, so., Baraboo. 132 – Ardit Beluli, jr., DeForest. 138 – Zachary Marek, so., Waunakee. 145 – Ben Statz, jr., Waunakee. 152 – Will Gahnz, sr., DeForest. 160 – Brady Fry, jr., Reedsburg. 170 – Isaac Pape, sr., Sauk Prairie. 182 – Vincent Walsh, sr., Sauk Prairie. 195 – James McFarlane, sr., Waunakee. 220 – Reed Ryan, so., Waunakee; 285 – Konnor McNeal, sr., Sauk Prairie


152 – Miguel Elizondo, jr., Sauk Prairie.

Follow Brock Fritz on Twitter @BrockFritz

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News