Despite playing at their home course, the Sauk Prairie High School boys golf team dropped down in the conference standings after the second Badger North Conference mini-meet of the year.

The Eagles tallied 375 strokes over 18 holes Tuesday at Lake Wisconsin Country Club in Prairie du Sac. Sauk Prairie took last out of eight teams, a week after using 356 strokes to place fourth in the opening meet of the year April 9 in Mount Horeb.

Waunakee won the first two mini-meets to take control in the Badger North standings.

Jake Vieth fired the lowest score of Sauk Prairie’s five individuals. The senior shot an 85, including a back-nine 40, on the par-70 course to finish with one birdie and seven pars.

Spencer Breunig shot a 48 on the front nine and a 44 on the back nine to shoot a 92 for the Eagles. Aaron Frey used a back-nine 45 to shoot a 97, while Spencer Lacour shot a 101 and Tyler Ramaker shot a 104.

Beaver Dam’s Zak Kulka shot an even-par 70 to win individual medalist honors, beating out Waunakee’s Joe Guerrera (74), Mount Horeb’s Kasen Fager (76), Waunakee’s Sean Murphy (77) and Baraboo’s Dane Hinz (77).

Sauk Prairie will host another meet on Monday, when 11 teams meet at Lake Wisconsin Country Club for an invitational. The next Badger North mini-meet will be held April 24 at Old Hickory Golf Club in Beaver Dam.

Team scores: Waunakee 315, Mount Horeb 325, Portage 352, Reedsburg 352, DeForest 356, Beaver Dam 362, Baraboo 364, Sauk Prairie 375.

Top five individuals: Zak Kulka, BD, 70; Joe Guerrera, W, 74; Kasen Fager, MH, 76; Sean Murphy, W, 77; Dane Hinz, B, 77.

Waunakee — Joe Guerrera 74, Sean Murphy 77, Luke Humphrey 80, Jacob Werlein 84, Ryan Johnson 87. Mount Horeb — Kasen Fager 76, Tommy Winkler 80, Will Kealy 81, Ben Leis 88, Michael Rumler 88. Reedsburg — Will Fuhrmann 82, Ryan Schneider 89, Brett Crary 90, Kip Cunningham 91, Carson Beyer 95. Portage — Dayne Hensler 83, Marcus Herwig 86, Connor Levander 91, Matt Straka 92, Ready Dresan 116. DeForest — Beau Blackdeer 85, Sam Galvin 87, Joe Brethouwer 92, Jack Greger 92, Michael Buchanan 96. Beaver Dam — Zak Kulka 70, MJ Hallman 90, Casper Rubbelke 98, Nick Kuntz 104, Parker Leisses 105. Baraboo — Dane Hinz 77, Jack Rath 86, Noah Anderson 99, Jacob Carignan 102, Brady Mackinnon 106. Sauk Prairie — Jake Vieth 85, Spencer Breunig 92, Aaron Frey 97, Spencer Lacour 101, Tyler Ramaker 104. At Lake Wisconsin C.C., par 70.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

We welcome reader interaction. What are your questions about this article? Do you have an idea to share? Please stick to the topic and maintain a respectful attitude toward other participants. (You can help: Use the 'Report' link to let us know of off-topic or offensive posts.)