Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Badgers 7, Nittany Lions 3: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory over Penn State

Badgers 7, Nittany Lions 3: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory over Penn State

  • Updated

Cole Caufield scored three times for his second collegiate hat trick as the No. 14 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team completed its first Big Ten home sweep since March 2019 with a 7-3 victory over No. 15 Penn State at LaBahn Arena on Tuesday.

Three stars

No. 3: Linus Weissbach got the Badgers on the board first and added an assist.

No. 2: Tarek Baker scored a short-handed goal and added two assists.

No. 1: The lid is off with Caufield, who scored on the power play, at even strength and into an empty net.

Up next

The Badgers host Arizona State on Saturday and Sunday.


The University of Wisconsin men's hockey team on Tuesday will try to do what it didn't all of last season: sweep a Big ten home series.

The 14th-ranked Badgers host No. 15 Penn State at LaBahn Arena (5 p.m., BTN,, 1310 AM) after winning 6-3 on Monday.

UW's last home conference sweep was against Michigan to close the 2018-19 regular season. It was 5-7 at home in Big Ten play in 2019-20.

The Badgers have no changes to their lineup from Monday's game. Center Ty Pelton-Byce will miss his third straight game with a concussion.

Badgers (3-2 overall, 3-1-0-1 Big Ten)


Linus Weissbach - Brock Caufield - Cole Caufield

Roman Ahcan - Tarek Baker - Sam Stange

Jack Gorniak - Owen Lindmark - Ryder Donovan

Jason Dhooghe - Dominick Mersch - Mathieu De St. Phalle


Tyler Inamoto - Ty Emberson

Josh Ess - Anthony Kehrer

Jesper Peltonen - Mike Vorlicky

Shay Donovan


Robbie Beydoun

Cameron Rowe

Ben Garrity

Scratches: F Dylan Holloway (World Junior camp), F Ty Pelton-Byce (concussion), D Luke LaMaster.

Nittany Lions (0-3, 0-3-0-0)


Connor McMenamin - Aarne Talvitie - Kevin Wall

Alex Limoges - Tim Doherty - Sam Sternschein

Tyler Gratton - Connor MacEachern - Tyler Paquette

Jared Westcott - Bobby Hampton - Xander Lamppa


Clayton Phillips - Paul DeNaples

Christian Berger - Mason Snell

Evan Bell - Alex Stevens

Jimmy Dowd Jr.


Liam Soulière

Oskar Autio


Referees: Ian McCambridge and Brian Aaron.

Linesmen: Jonathan Sladek and Nick Bradshaw.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News